Leftovers: They’re Really Just a Vehicle for Wine

leftovers-2Leftovers.  Drag-outs.  Must-goes.  Whatever you call them at your house, they all spell one thing:  Dread.

I don’t know anyone who would say leftovers is their favorite meal.  And I’m the worst leftover eater. There’s only one thing that tastes better to me as an encore — chili.  That’s it.  Left up to me, the leftovers at my house would never get eaten.  Fortunately, the Mr. Armchair Sommelier is an excellent leftover eater.  He says he has three jobs in the house:  lift the heavy things, kill the bugs, and eat the leftovers.  I would have married him anyway, but finding out he ate leftovers sealed the deal.

To distract myself from the drudgery of leftovers, I think of them as a vehicle for wine.  If I choose a killer bottle of wine to open, suddenly, I have something to look forward to.  Even reheated meatloaf becomes bearable when you pair it with a killer Pinot.

Tonight, I’m giving my leftovers style.  I have some leftover Easter ham in my freezer that desperately needs to go, so I’m getting fancy and repurposing it as ham and scalloped potatoes.  Ham and scalloped potatoes was one of my grandpa’s favorite meals, and every time I make it, I get all gooey and nostalgic thinking about him.

Now, my grandma would have made ham & scalloped potatoes from scratch.  Because she was awesome that way.  Can I make it from scratch?  Sure.  I paid attention when Grandma taught me that lesson (not so much during the “how to sew on a button” lesson).  But I just rode 20 miles on the tandem bike with my husband (btw, Fauquier County, Virginia is waaaaay hillier than I ever thought it was).   I’m too pooped to party, and I’m all out of Vitameatavegamin.  So I’m going to commit a crime against potatoes and use this:

Au_Gratin

True confessions:  I actually like this stuff.  Me and Betty Crocker go waaay back.  But this is a terribly difficult dish to execute.  It requires skill and timing.  You see, you have to boil water, chop the ham into bite sized pieces, and then (and then!) you have to dump the ham pieces on top of the potatoes and put it all into the oven.  Whew!

My Betty Crocker Ham & Scalloped Potatoes are the perfect vehicle for this beauty:

DSCN5075

Foss Marai Prosecco Brut Roös NV ⭐⭐⭐⭐/90
Lately, I’ve been learning to love Prosecco.  I’ve been guilty of relegating Prosecco to cocktails, but slowly and surely, I’m discovering some Proseccos that are pretty outstanding solo.  This is a gorgeous salmon color.  Delicate bubbles.  Strawberries and cream on the nose.  Gloriously dry, with flavors of pomegranate and sour cherries.  Love the balance and restraint.  Rose petals linger on the finish.  Color me impressed!  I will definitely be back for more.  12% ABV.  $20.  And would you look at how pretty this bottle is?  It would make an excellent wine bottle tiki torch!!

The Pairing?  I gotta say, these leftovers are making me pretty happy tonight.  I may even have seconds — of both the ham & scalloped potatoes and the Prosecco!

So . . . how do you feel about leftovers?

Salud!

8 thoughts on “Leftovers: They’re Really Just a Vehicle for Wine

  1. Everything sounds good, love that pink bubbly and great that it went so well with the ham and scalloped potatoes. Takes me back to my childhood, I remember my Moms scalloped potatoes, so good.

  2. The only left-overs recipe I get excited about is the day-after-Thanksgiving sandwich I make with turkey, stuffing and cranberries. I look forward to that sandwich every year. Otherwise, I’m with you. I like your exotic ham and potatoes recipe, though. I might have to try that. :) Cheers!

    • One of these years, I’m actually going to try that sandwich! I sometimes do a turkey pot pie with the turkey leftovers, but I prefer chicken pot pie . . . not sure exactly why. Cheers!!

      • I’ve tried to figure out why I like it so much. I think it’s because I always overeat on Thanksgiving, to the point of being uncomfortable. It’s like a do-over the next day. All the great flavors of the holiday, without the gluttony. :)

    • Oh, man . . . wish you lived closer. I could be your restaurant leftover dealer. I have a perfectly lovely gourmet burger in my fridge right now . . . that’s about to become a snack for my English mastiff! Salud!!

      • The gourmet burgers aren’t the best leftovers though. Something about them just doesn’t lend to reheating. But I love most of them! I had leftover panini sandwich for dinner tonight. Yum!

Leave a Reply

